Shatkarma means shat "six" karma "action" the shatkarma consist of six groups of purification practices. The aim of hatha yoga and, therefore, of the shatkarma is to create harmony between the two major pranic flows, ida and pingala, thereby attaining physical and mental purification and balance.

Although there are only six shatkarma, each one consists of a variety of practices. On this page only the most commonly used practices are described in detail. Advice and pracautions are given for each practice individually.

The main shatkarmas are:-

  1. Jal Neti
  2. Sutra Neti
  3. Nauli
  4. Trataka
  5. Vastara Dhauti
  6. Basti
  7. Kunjal Kriya
  8. Kapalbhati

Enquiry Now


Contact Us

Seva-Dham Plus
.....The Wellness Retreat

Call us On